3 Dec 2012

On 21 November the European Parliament’s President Martin Schulz awarded this year’s LUX Film Prize to Shun Li and the Poet (Io sono Li) by Andrea Segre (Italy and France) at a ceremony during the plenary session in Strasbourg. The other two finalists were Just the Wind (Csak a Széi) by Bence Fliegauf, (Hungary, Germany and France), andTabu by Miguel Gomes (Portugal, Germany, France and Brazil). The Members of the European Parliament cast their vote after a period of screenings at the Parliament in Brussels and online.

The LUX Prize winner does not receive a direct grant. Instead, the Parliament pays to subtitle the film into the EU’s 23 official languages and for it to be adapted for the visually or hearing impaired. It also funds the production of a 35 mm print for each Member State.

Interviews with the three film directors and the list of cities and dates of the screening of the three films can be found HERE: